Saturday, February 11, 2012

Google, Blogger, Picasa

You may have noticed that most of the pictures from my blog have disappeared.

Here’s what happened:

It all started with that darn Droid Razr.

This may be old news for many of you, so I apologize for my ignorance in advance, but in case anyone out there is unaware of where your pictures are stored when you post a blog, keep reading!

Ok, so, I wanted to fully utilize Google and have all my stuff in one place.  So, I set up a Gmail account. At this point on my Razr, I had already connected my current email account to the phone, so now there were two emails accounts going to my phone.  This is no big deal, the Razr organizes everything very nicely and it all shows up in one place but I didn’t want that.  I wanted ONE email account.

After setting up Gmail, and messing with other stuff (I honestly can not remember because I got myself so deep in confusion, I am not sure how I even got to this point), I decide I don’t like my Gmail account name and I am going to set up a new one.

So, now I have THREE email accounts.  I didn’t want two, I obviously don’t want THREE. So, easy fix, I’ll phase out my original email address by telling everyone to send new emails to the new Gmail account and then since no one but Google even new about the first Gmail account, I’ll just delete that one.

Google alerts me that if I delete the Google account associated with the first Gmail account, I will lose EVERYTHING associated with that account, including my blog.

Understood.

So, I go into my blog and make sure that my new Gmail account is set as the administrator and I delete the other Google account.

Here’s the problem.  Every time you post to Blogger it saves all your pictures in Picasa.  Since I DIDN’T KNOW THIS, I didn’t transfer my pictures to the new Gmail account, therefore when I deleted the old account, I deleted the old pictures. Forever.

No where have I ever seen that my pictures were being stored in a Picasa album.  No where in the alert about deleting that Google account did it warn me about blog pictures being stored anywhere besides in my blog.  Again, this is probably my own ignorance about how things in Google work, but I think Google needs to be a little more clear about that!

Luckily I write all my posts in Windows Live Writer and store all my pictures in Windows Photo Gallery.  So , I still have everything.  I am now in the process of going through each post and deleting and reloading the pictures.

It’s going to take awhile, but eventually everything will be back to normal and you won’t see any more black boxes!

Sorry about all this!

Lesson learned: Call my sister, Autumn, before ever deleting anything in Google again! (She sets up Google accounts for businesses for a living!)

5 comments:

  1. ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! i didn't know you deleted the old accounts! I thought you just had 3 and were not going to use the others. That makes sense now why the photos were gone. Yes I think its annoying that Picasa holds your pics, it's just another way for people to snoop on others!

    are you seriously going through all your own posts and putting your pics back up?? yikes.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I wish now I wouldn't have just left all three accounts in tact. Lesson learned. Yes, I am reloading all the pictures. I can't stand seeing the black boxes!

      Delete
  2. I didn't know any of that so thanks for teaching me something!!

    T.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh MY! I had no idea how any of that worked. What a MESS! I hate that you're having to go through all this. =/

    ReplyDelete